Enforcing Massachusetts Texting Ban May Pose a Challenge to Police

The new texting ban goes into effect the end of this month, and local police groups say they anticipate it could be difficult to enforce. Lack of training and the difficulty in determining whether a Massachusetts motorist is dialing the phone or sending a text message were cited as the key challenges.

Police also say they will be hard-pressed to testify in these cases about exactly what they saw. However, that doesn’t mean the driver is off the hook, because in an alleged text messaging car accident, police can obtains records from the cell phone carrier to prove whether the person was texting or calling.

Those who violate the texting ban will pay a $100 fine for the first offense, $250 for the second infraction, and $500 for each subsequent offense. Enforcement might be easier if all handheld devices were banned on the road, so that may be the next step for legislators.

Source: Police see problems enforcing texting ban, WickedLocal.com, September 13, 2010
Have you been injured on the road? Contact our Massachusetts auto accident attorneys for a free initial case evaluation.

Contact Information