Last fall, Massachusetts’ Registry of Motor Vehicles stopped mailing reminders to people whose driver’s licenses would soon expire. According to the state Executive Officer of Transportation, the decision saved the state $857,000 per year.
However, Massachusetts drivers caught driving with an expired license can receive a citation with a fine ranging from $100 to $1,000. Since driving with an expired license is a criminal offense, police officers can arrest the driver if they choose.
To help prevent drivers from using an expired license, a Boston-based insurance company, Plymouth Rock Assurance, is offering a free email service to remind drivers when their license will expire. Beginning May 11, anyone, regardless of whether they are a Plymouth Rock policy holder or not, can sign up at www.plymouthrock.com. The company ensures approximately 180,000 drivers in Massachusetts.
Drivers offered license reminder, MassLive.com, May 4, 2009
Contact a Massachusetts auto accident attorney if you have been injured on the road.